What we are working towards

The Colorado Art Science Environment (CASE) Fellowship program supported eight artist-scientist teams. These teams collaborated with each other and Colorado communities in order create artwork that moves public audiences beyond debates about climate change to confront, amplify, and make visible the connection all Coloradans have to our state’s natural landscape, and, through our connection to place, to one another. It is only through building this basis for connection and relationship that Coloradans can move forward in collectively addressing pressing climate change issues of warming winters, earlier snowmelt, drought, fire, and water and air quality.

The exhibition, Coloradans and Our Shared Environment in Times of Challenge and Change, tells the story of how Colorado communities are experiencing interrelated environmental challenges. Read KUNC’s coverage of the exhibition opening to learn more. Visit project pages to learn more about the collaborations between artists scientists and community members and the environmental and social issues addressed in their artwork.

Who we are

Lisa Schwartz from CU Boulder’s Office for Public and Community-Engaged Scholarship (formerly the Office for Outreach and Engagement) leads the program in partnership with Shelly Sommer at INSTAAR, Boulder County Arts Alliance and with exhibition installation and curatorial support from Amy Hoagland, MFA.

The CASE Fellows program connects scientists and science to the lived experiences of Coloradans grappling with a changing landscape. With this art-science and community collaboration, CU Boulder’s Office for Outreach and Engagement continues to grow our statewide networks for this critical work.

See below for a list of each artist and scientist team and their location. We intentionally selected artists from across rural and urban, Front Range and Western Slope Colorado in order to underscore the interconnection of Colorado’s environmental issues and to build relationships across the state.

Read bios for the CASE Fellows Artist and Scientist Teams


  • Amy Hoagland, MFA, Artist
  • Tania Schoennagel, INSTAAR, Research Scientist

Colorado Springs: 

  • Darya Warner, MFA, Artist 
  • Suzanne Anderson, Professor • Fellow of INSTAAR • Faculty of Hydrologic Sciences Geological Sciences


  • Dennis Doyle, MFA, Artist
  • Bri Dobson, Chemistry, PhD Candidate

Summit County, Frisco and Dillon: 

  • Hannah Taylor, Artist
  • Noah Molotch, Associate Professor of Geography • Fellow of INSTAAR • Faculty of Hydrologic Sciences


  • Maddie Sanders, Artist 
  • Nicole Brooks, MA, INSTAAR, Environmental Engineering, Hydrosciences
  • Diane McKnight, Professor Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering • Director of Center for Water, Earth Science and Technology • Fellow of INSTAAR

Del Norte, San Luis Valley:  

  • Jocelyn Catterson, Artist
  • Holly Barnard, Associate Dean of Research • Associate Professor of Geography • Fellow of INSTAAR

Grand Junction: 

  • TJ Smith, Artist  
  • Ben Livneh, Associate Professor • Director, Western Water Assessment •CIRES • Hydrology • Mortenson Center in Global Engineering


  • Beth Johnston, MFA, Artist 
  • Kendi Davies, Associate Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Laura Dee, Assistant Professor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology